Top 5

My 5 Best Books Of 2020 So Far

Some of these books were gifted by the publishers or Netgalley for the purpose of review and will be fully disclosed. All thoughts and opinions are my own. This post contains affiliate links.

1. The Keeper by Diane Saxon

Synopsis

Responding to reports of deadly screams in the Ironbridge Gorge, Detective Sergeant Jenna Morgan is first on the scene to investigate.

As the search intensifies, Jenna soon discovers her sister Fliss’s severely injured Dalmatian, Domino and the naked, tortured body of an unknown woman.

Who is the dead woman and where is her sister Fliss?

My Thoughts

This was thrilling and kept me on the edge of my seat. My first introduction to Diane Saxon’s work and I will definitely be reading more. I gave this 5 stars out of 5.

2. For Better, For Worse by Jane Isaac

Synopsis

Stuart Ingram was once a respected local councillor…

The first time the police knocked on Gina’s door, they arrested her husband.

The second time, they accused him of child abuse.

But he died a guilty man.

This time, the police are here for Gina – to tell her that her husband is dead. Murdered, just two weeks before his trial.

Gina always stood by her husband. Even when everyone else walked away. She believed the trial would clear his name. But now Stuart is dead.

And his wife is the suspect.

It’s a race against time for DC Beth Chamberlain to uncover the truth – especially when a second man turns up dead.

Domestic noir meets police procedural in this pacy thriller from Jane Isaac, perfect for fans of Samantha Downing, Fiona Barton and K.L. Slater. Previously published as Presumed Guilty.

My Thoughts

I really enjoyed this book and gave it 5 out of 5 stars. Read my full review here. I was sent a copy by Netgalley for the purpose of review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

3. When Stars Will Shine: Helping Our Heroes One Page At A Time ; compiled by Emma Mitchell

Synopsis

When Stars Will Shine is a collection of short stories from your favourite authors who have come together to deliver you a Christmas read with a twist.

With true war tales that will break your heart, gritty Christmas crimes that will shake you to your core, and heart-warming tales of love lost and found, this anthology has something for everyone. And, with every penny made being sent to support our troops, you can rest assured that you’re helping our heroes, one page at a time.

From authors such as Louise Jensen, Graham Smith, Malcolm Hollingdrake, Lucy Cameron, Val Portelli, and Alex Kane, you are in for one heck of a ride!

When Stars Will Shine is the perfect Christmas gift for the bookworms in your life!

My Thoughts

I first became aware of this due to a book group I am in on Facebook. I bought it as it is for charity and was introduced to a whole new selection of authors and fantastic storytelling. I gave this 5 out of 5 stars.

4. The Other Woman by Jane Isaac

Synopsis

The grieving widow. The other woman. Which one is which?

When Cameron Swift is shot and killed outside his family home, DC Beth Chamberlain is appointed Family Liaison Officer. Her role is to support the family – and investigate them.

Monika, Cameron’s partner and mother of two sons, had to be prised off his lifeless body after she discovered him. She has no idea why anyone would target Cameron.

Beth can understand Monika’s confusion. To everyone in their affluent community, Monika and her family seemed just like any other. But then Beth gets a call.

Sara is on holiday with her daughters when she sees the news. She calls the police in the UK, outraged that no one has contacted her to let her know or offer support. After all, she and Cameron had been together for the last seven years.

Until Cameron died, Monika and Sara had no idea each other existed.

As the case unfolds, Beth discovers that nothing is quite as it appears and everyone, it seems, has secrets. Especially the dead…

My Thoughts

Yes, two books by the same author in this list!

I was sent a copy via Netgalley for the purpose of review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

This was a thrilling read – I didn’t guess the perpetrator at all although it makes perfect sense!

I found Beth a really interesting character and her relationship with her sergeant Nick something that could really be built upon. I loved Beth’s close relationship with her niece but found Beth’s sister Eden quite frustrating and not just for the reasons that come to light later in the book.

This was a great introduction to this author for me and I’ll definitely check out more of their work. I gave this 4 out of 5 stars.

5. Becoming by Laura Jane Williams

Synopsis

After being dumped by the man she thought she was going to marry, Laura, hurt and bewildered, turned to excess in an effort to heal; misplacing her anger for one man with all men and using sex as a weapon. After one final lewd encounter Laura declared a vow of celibacy and moved to an Italian convent. Set in Paris, Rome, Detroit and Derby this is the story of her life before and her life after, the beginning and the end. Eat, Pray, Love meets Wild, BECOMING is a memoir that shows how one year can change everything, even when it seems like you’d never know yourself again.

My Thoughts

I have reviewed the book fully here which you can check out. I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars.

What are your top 5 books of the year so far? You can buy the books I enjoyed on Amazon here {affiliate link}.

 

10 thoughts on “My 5 Best Books Of 2020 So Far

  1. Although I have a lot of free time during this period, I didn’t manage to read too much, but I really liked The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button and Barrie, by Sean Laidlaw.
    I would like to read When Stars Will Shine.

  2. These all sound really interesting. I hardly read anymore. I have two year old twins and a four year old so am too tired by the end of the day!

  3. Thanks for the recommendations. It’s always good to have an honest opinion of a book and great timing as I’m just about to order a couple!

  4. I really want to read For Better, For Worse now! Great reviews!

  5. These all sound right down my street. I love a crime thriller book, but am often a bit tentative of trying new authors. I’ll give these a go!

  6. I must find more time to read. I loved it before I had kids and often went through several books on a holiday. I’ll look at some of these

  7. I really need to read more. Ive been saying this for the last 5 years!!

  8. I’m not very good at reading books, but maybe I should try one of these. I might get into reading!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *